Breeders Cup Mile Winners

Breeders Cup Mile Winners

The Breeders Cup Mile has become somewhat of a specialist race in the Breeders Cup for European runners, with there being ten winners from the last twenty-two runnings.

Last years win for Goldikova became the first horse to win the race three times in a row and was of special interest because Freddy Head is the only person to both ride and train a winner in the race.

The French have a particularly strong record in this race having won it seven times with Goldikova winning three in a row Breeders Cup Mile's between 2008-2010.

Have a free bet on the 2018 Breeders Cup.

List of Breeders Cup Mile Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer
2018 Expert Eye F Dettori Sir M Stoute
2017 World Approval JR Velazquez ME Casse
2016 Tourist J Rosario W Mott
2015 Tepin J Leparoux M Casse
2014 Karakontie S Pasquier J Pease
2013 Wise Dan J Lezcano C Lopresti
2012 Wise Dan John Velazquez C Lopresti
2011 Court Vision Robby Albarado Dale Romans
2010 Goldikova Olivier Peslier Freddy Head
2009 Goldikova Olivier Peslier Freddy Head
2008 Goldikova Olivier Peslier Freddy Head
2007 Kip Deville Cornelio Velasquez Richard E. Dutrow, Jr.
2006 Miesque's Approval Eddie Castro Martin D. Wolfson
2005 Artie Schiller Garrett Gomez James A. Jerkens
2004 Singletary David R. Flores Don Chatlos
2003 Six Perfections Jerry Bailey Pascal Barry
2002 Domedriver Thierry Thulliez Pascal Barry
2001 Val Royal Jose Valdivia, Jr. Julio C. Canani
2000 War Chant Gary Stevens Neil Drysdale
1999 Silic Corey Nakatani Julio C. Canani
1998 Da Hoss John Velazquez Michael W. Dickinson
1997 Spinning World Cash Asmussen Jonathan E. Pease
1996 Da Hoss Gary Stevens Michael W. Dickinson
1995 Ridgewood Pearl Johnny Murtagh John Oxx
1994 Barathea Frankie Dettori Luca Cumani
1993 Lure Mike E. Smith C.R. McGaughey III
1992 Lure Mike E. Smith C.R. McGaughey III
1991 Opening Verse Pat Valenzuela Richard J. Lundy
1990 Royal Academy Lester Piggot Vincent O'Brien
1989 Steinlen Jose Santos D. Wayne Lukas
1988 Miesque Freddy Head Francois Boutin
1987 Miesque Freddy Head Francois Boutin
1986 Last Tycoon Yves Saint-Martin Robert Collet
1985 Cozzene Walter Guerra Jan H. Nerud
1984 Royal Heroine Fernando Toro John Gosden

Get all the latest bookmaker odds for the 2018 Breeders Cup Mile.